The 1.54 acre site spans from North Front Street to Second Street, with a breathtaking view of the Susquehanna River. Tracy Mansion was built in 1913 in what was later termed "Mansion Row" as a Tudor Revival home for David Tracy, an industrialist.
The original mansion was one of three built in a row along Front Street; it was a 30 room mansion with hardwood floors (over poured concrete), mural paintings, fireplaces, an iron cage elevator, and a coal bin "so large it was later used as a dining hall."
Of the three original mansions, Tracy is the only survivor. The Tracy Mansion was converted into an osteopathic hospital, Community General, in 1951 and functioned for over 20 years when Goodwill Industries became the tenant and converted it into a mental health facility. The mansion was vacant when it was purchased in 2005 by Susquehanna Real Estate.
Char Magaro was asked by Susquehanna Real Estate to establish a restaurant at the site. She agreed only if she could purchase her space. An agreement was reached for her to purchase - as a condominium - 33% of the mansion. Due to complicated zoning issues, an economic recession, and retreating banks, it was not until June 2012 that Magaro finally signed the sales agreement for purchase of the mansion. Remarkably, less than 5 months later, the extensive renovations were completed due in large part because Magaro was the designer and project manager moving the project to completion.
The mansion has won awards for its cabinetry and finishes as well as electrical designs. In keeping with Char's commitment to the environment, the restaurant functions with 100% wind power for electricity and a geo-thermal system for gas heat.
Char's Tracy Mansion was designed to create a public space that conveys the elegance of the original mansion as well as showcase fine sculptural art... a gift to the community.